I hope its a mid life crisis, because if it’s not I am lost…

I sit here on a Friday night, after a week that seems to have passed in a nano second, on my 3rd glass of wine and second leftover chocolate Easter egg, and pray that what I am feeling is a mid-life crisis that will pass.

I recently started what most people would classify as a dream job, big title, big salary, nice corner office (with own bar fridge and TV!), nice people to work with, great benefits, busy, busy, busy…and I am bored to death. I have achieved what 10 years ago I would have seen as the pinnacle of my career and yet I feel the most frustrated that I have ever felt. Is this all that life has to offer?

I feel  more and more that I want to do something more creative, more personal, but have no idea what. I have worked with some amazing people who have all indicated that they would come work me for in a heartbeat, and I miss them, I want to work them again. BUT, and it is a big but…doing what?

I lack that idea, that spark, I know I have the skills and experience to make things work, to make business run effectively and efficiently and yet I cannot come up with that IDEA!

I am mid-life, there is no denying that, and I feel a great urge to make a difference, and more and more I feel that working for an already successful organisation, making wealthy men even more wealthy just does not seem to be that satisfying anymore.

I find myself asking more often these days, what is the meaning of life??

If anyone can answer that for me please do so, if anyone has that IDEA please tell me what it is.

I do not like this mid-life crisis…I do not like this place I am (sorry Dr Seuss, I have very badly paraphrased you).

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. the curtain raiser

     /  June 1, 2012

    I love, love, love this as you beautifully express the emotions I felt when I arrived at the same place. In hindsight, it was a slow three year creep up to this point and I just keep pushing through thinking that was the only alternative. I’m not sure what the answer is when you have attained all the trappings of success that society ordains and yet still feel empty as I did. I’m still navigating the road, but this has really rammed home to me that it’s about the journey, not the destination. Maybe it’s time to commence another journey and apply our business skills in a more meaningful context. Thanks for sharing. It’s gratifying to know there are others out there who feel the same and understand.

    Reply
  2. You’ll be fine! Stay strong!

    Reply
  3. I think many of us can relate. I came across an article recently that helped me. It speaks to the idea of having multiple dream jobs, one after the other. This is a direction that I’ve been taking after hitting the peak and asking, “Now what?”. Hope it helps. http://thegloss.com/career/i-gave-up-my-dream-and-id-do-it-again-731/

    Reply
    • I love that article ‘TheNegativeOptimist’, really resonated with me. Thank you very much. I guess the next question I have to ask myself is to be totally honest (and courageous) and decide when I have finished with this particular dream.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

