Learning to say ‘yes sir’ to a younger man

My co-author’s last post was about breaking in a new boss and I thought that rather timely, as I too have a new boss as a consequence of taking on a new role with a new company. So I am breaking in a new boss myself, and for the first time in my career it is someone younger, only by 5 years but it has given me a bit of a shock.

Is this the start of a slow decline into the invisibility of middle age? Do I have to accept that maybe I am past my best before date?

I have already begun to notice that during lunch room chat there are increasing times when some of the ‘younger folk’ have no idea what I am talking about. The receptionist at my new job had the hide to remark ‘you sound just like my mum’, which sent shivers down my spine.

The trouble is I don’t feel old, I have a hard time believing the person in the mirror aging (quite gracefully thankfully, but still aging) is me. I’m not ready to be move into that next bracket and I’m certainly not ready to become a meek, mild, conservative middle-aged woman.

I warned my children recently that I intend to grow old disgracefully!

I love that poem by Jenny Joseph that starts:

WHEN I AM AN OLD WOMAN I SHALL WEAR PURPLE,

WITH A RED HAT WHICH DOESN’T GO, AND DOESN’T SUIT ME.

I already wear purple (recently dyed my hair purple) so all I need now is a red hat! Look out everybody!

And as for that new, younger boss, he should watch out, because I have much knowledge and experience to share and if he’s smart he will listen. And actually despite the title of this post I have no intention of saying ‘yes sir’ not my style, regardless of age.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Haha! This is really cute! And hey, your age doesn’t matter. It matters how YOU feel! Keep it up the good work. x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

