Marriage should be an option for all who chose it

As a heterosexual, I really don’t understand the resistance from some governments to legalise same-sex marriage.  If two people love each other and want to make a commitment to each other why shouldn’t they be able to?

If two people get married it doesn’t affect anyone else anyway, so what impact does it really have if two men wish to marry each other or two women wish to marry each other? 

The main reason people seem to give for why same-sex marriage should not be legalised is on religious grounds, but everyone has different beliefs anyway which is fine, but I don’t think our own beliefs should be imposed on others.

Another thing I don’t understand is the necessity for a label in the first place.  I don’t have to state what my sexual preferences are and behind the privacy of closed doors they could very well be different from that of my neighbour, but I don’t have to justify anything, there is no label.  No-one says ooh look at that heterosexual woman over there or look at that heterosexual couple holding hands or kissing each other, so why do we have to pin a gay label on people in the first place?  We are all just human beings trying to find happiness.

Surely what is most important is finding another human being who you care about and who cares about you and being able to enjoy life together.

I hope that in my lifetime I see more acceptance of others and that everyone has the freedom to choose to marry (or not marry if they prefer) without the judgement or condemnation of others.

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. I’m personally okay with same-sex marriages, but totally against them having children. Those kids will be affected for the rest of their life. They’ll most probably be bullied at school and stuff like this. Moreover, I don’t care what anyone does in private, but I wouldn’t like gay people hug, kiss, or be lovey-dovey in front of me, as I don’t like heterosexual people do this. It’s about respect. I respect them and their sexual orientation, but they should also respect my beliefs. A relationship, a marriage is meant to be private as much as possible, so any sexual act should be done at home, in their bedroom, not in a park, on the street, or anywhere where I can see. (this goes to both gay people and heterosexuals)
    My opinions.
    But yes, marriage should be for everyone!

    Reply
  2. Thanks for sharing your views LexoKat.

    My view is that people should have the freedom to choose what is right for them without being judged by others and that includes the right to have a family. I think that yearning to have a family is universal regardless of sexual orientation.

    I don’t think you need to worry about the children themselves. Little children don’t discriminate against others until they learn it from adults. If the adults in their life demonstrate acceptance of others that is how the children will behave and bullying won’t be an issue.

    Reply
  3. I agree with you. I find it the height of hypocracy for anyone to say that only one particular kind have the right to love and live in a marriage or to have a loving family. If two people are good, honest people, then they will raise good honest children. We need more of those.
    In Australia, the catholic church has now started a platform to keep gay marriage from Australians. Now if anyone knew anything about marriage, it is not the catholic church.

    Reply
  4. Well said Subtlekate. Surely the best thing for a child is to be part of a loving family in whatever form that comes. One parent, two parents, two Dads, two Mums. Whatever. There are plenty of unloved children in conventional family units so who are we to say which type of family is the one and only right one.

    Reply
  5. Couldn’t of have said it better. Why is the govt or the church the judge for who should and shouldn’t enjoy the benefits of marriage and family. I can feel a post coming on in my blog if you don’t mind me borrowing your theme.

    Reply
  6. Go for it! If we want to make a difference the more who share their views the better.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

