Self Esteem

ImageI find it very disturbing to read articles about young girls who have self esteem issues and are concerned that they are not pretty enough, or think they are ugly or fat.

 It seems that these issues are affecting younger and younger girls all the time.

 As mothers, grandmothers and aunties we are responsible for the attitudes and behaviours that are copied and imitated by the children in our lives.  Children are like little sponges and mirror the behaviour they see around them.

 I clearly remember as a child of 8 or 9 when my mother stopped buying butter in favour of margarine, stopped baking for us and excluded desserts from the family menu because she was on a diet.

 Coincidently (or not) it was around this time that I started to think I was a bit ‘chunky’ and was embarrassed by how I looked.  Certainly my teen years were peppered by various diets.  I thought that I was fat, but when I look back at photos of myself at this time I just looked like a normal sized girl.

 Weight issues have continued into my adult life and my weight has gone up and down over the years.  Even as a middle-aged woman I look at myself in the mirror and generally see only the bits I don’t like.  I also think that the body that I see in the mirror I see as somewhat larger than the actual reality.

If we want to see a change in the way girls and women firstly view themselves and secondly treat each other, then we need to start by working on ourselves.  We need to learn to accept ourselves, focus on the good things and learn to love ourselves, just the way we are.

 “I alone cannot change the world, but I can cast a stone across the waters to create many ripples.”
Mother Teresa

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Yes. One way is to seek to be positive rather than negative, to see the beauty in a person rather than “imperfections”.

    If you love someone, you find their wrinkles beautiful. I look in the mirror and say “I love you”. It does me good.

    Reply
  2. Reblogged this on Lex'sThoughts and commented:
    This surely happens always.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

