Honest and Integrity – Not required!

I am currently in the midst of a very frustrating search for a new job and recently undertook one of those psychological tests to identify my top 5 management traits. While usually not a big fan of these types of tests this one was not too bad and actually got me thinking on a number of issues.

At the conclusion of the test I was given a 13 page report on my top 5 traits and areas of strengths and weaknesses, some of which was interesting. One of my top 5 traits is ‘Acting with honour and character’. Not a surprise, as integrity is vitally important to me. What I found astonishing though is part of the report then tells you by region and type of company whether your top 5 traits match what is currently desired by companies with positions to fill. Guess what? Acting with honour and character is NOT desired!

How can companies want to fill a leadership role with someone who does not act with honesty and character? Are management not supposed to set the cultural example for the rest of the organisation to follow?

 

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. That’s interesting. I’ve seen a lot of these tests and have seen the pages after the results include things like suggested reading to help develop perceived weaknesses. I hope most companies still value honesty and integrity, if they don’t we are in a heap of trouble! Good luck with the job search.

    Reply
  2. The saddest part for me at the moment is that while I have predominantly worked in male dominated companies I am currently working in one that is 96% female and I initially thought this would be a kinder, gentler more nurturing culture where honesty and integrity would be paramount. How wrong I was, hence the search for the new role.

    Reply
  3. Vicki

     /  March 24, 2012

    Have had similar experiences with female work environments. What is with the gossiping, lack of support and bitchiness that goes on with women at work? Competing with males in the workforce is hard enough and we are finally making ground on ‘really’ smashing the glass ceiling, but when we get to positions of power and then turn on each other its appalling.

    Reply
  4. Magenta

     /  March 24, 2012

    How disappointing to have such an awful experience working with a large group of women. I have worked for four different organizations which have either been owned or managed by women and only one of them was like the organization which you describe. The other three were positive supportive environments where I received great mentoring from Senior women in the business. The only conclusion I can draw from this is that it is very dependent on the personalities which are involved. Working with women who feel threatened by other women in the business does not make for a very pleasant environment to work in.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

